The Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) is the largest public institution in Spain dedicated to research and one of the most renowned of the European Research Area (ERA). It is ascribed to the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities through the General Secretariat of Scientific Policy Coordination. At present, CSIC comprises a network of 120 research institutes, including 51 joint centers co-directed by other organizations such as universities or regional governments, distributed throughout the national territory.

CSIC will participate in the project through the IIM Marine Research Institute and will count on the assistance of the Group of Development, Valorisation and Innovation of Fish Products (ICTAN-CSIC).

IIM-CSIC participation will involve four research groups:

-The Process Engineering Group (acting as project coordinator) performs research in mathematical modelling computer-aided simulation, development of smart sensors, optimisation and robust and predictive control of diverse unit operations and processes in the food industry. 

-The Seafood Biochemistry Group works in two main research topics: development of analytical methods for the identification and quantification of fish species in food products and development of strategies for the management and valorisation of fishery discards and by-products.

-The Group of Recycling and Valorisation of Wastes deals with the recycling and valorisation of food processing wastewaters as well as fish and agro food by-products.

-The Seafood Microbiology and Technology Group aims the design of new strategies to increase the safety and quality of seafood, embracing the whole chain of production and distribution. Particular attention is being paid to the monitoring and control of some foodborne pathogens, such as Listeria monocytogenes, in the food industry.

The Group of Development, Valorisation and Innovation of Fish Products (ICTAN-CSIC) will assist the project on the development of novel ready-to-eat seafood products.

Staff involved:
-Eva Balsa-Canto
-Míriam Rodríguez García
-Carmen G. Sotelo
-Ricardo Pérez
-Xosé Antón Vázquez
-Juan R. Herrera
-Marta Lopez Cabo
-Carmen Gómez Guillén
-Pilar Montero

Instituto de Investigacións Mariñas – Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas